Sarvodaya Shikshan Mandal's

Sardar Patel Mahavidyalaya, Chandrapur

Recipient of PM USHA Grant 2024

NAAC Accredited with B++ grade with CGPA 2.93
Ranked among Best 100 College in India in India Today Ranking 2021

Sardar Patel Mahavidyalaya, Chandrapur

Sardar patel Mahavidyalaya has a separate cultural department to take care of the cultural and social development of the students. It is headed by Dr. Ajay S.Bele and the other members of the department are Dr.S.R.Weginwar,Dr.Nilesh Chimurkar,Dr.S.B.Urade.Dr.R.S.Biradar,Dr.Bharti Dikhit,Dr.Anita Matte This Department is working with the motive to explore and enhance literary and artistic talent of the students. The aim of the cultural department is to develop competitiveness, the ability to express themselves, to understand values and culture of our great country, India.

Cultural department through out the year conduct various cultural activities and organizes various competitions like debate, Elocution, Poetry writing, Essay writing on burning topics, painting, Dance, Drama, Singing at College, District and University level. The Committee also ensures the participation of college student in all these events organized by other agencies upto the state level. Pandemic situation since two  years affected the schedule of activities. Few of them are high lighted below.

In 2008-09

Elocution competition was organized on the topic “Righ to Information Act” in which Mr. Ravikumar Shukla of Govt. College of Arts and social Sciences Nagpur bagged the first prize.
Mr. Shrikant G. Sao have won the 3rd prize in ther State Level Debate competition at Padmbhushan Bar. Ramrao Upadhya & Bar Annasaheb DEshmukh College, Badnera, Amravati District…
He was also selected by the Chandrapur District. Co-Operative Society to participate in the State Level Elocution Competition at Pune on 21st and 22nd Des. 2008 on the topic “vision sahakar 2051”. Ku. Tabassum Sheikh of B. A. –I have won the first prize and Trophy for the college in the Elocution competition at Dr. Ambedkar College, Bramhapuri.
This year our student have performed excellently in the Uva Mahotsav”Uvarang-2009” by winning first prize in Elocution, Mimicry, mime. 2nd prize in Group Dance, Rangoli and third prize in solo dance and clay modeling competition. Cultural Department has successfully organized and conducted various axctivities Through out the session under the guidance of our principal Dr. J. A. Sheikh, by the blessing of Hon’ble President Shri Shantaram Potdukhe, and other dignitaries of the Sarvodaya Shikshan Mandal.

In 2007-2008

Competition like painting group song singing (Petriotic), a programme “Inqulab Zindabad” narrated by Prof. Shrikant Patil and his group from warora was organized to mark birth centenary year of shaheed Bhagat Singh and to celebrate the 150 years of freedm strugal and 60 glorious years of Independent India.
Mr. Vinod Dhakate have won the best actor award for the drama Chiranjivi written and direct by Prof. Rama Potdukhe-Golwalkar which also bagged the best script award and consolation in music in the drama competition at R. T. M. Nagpur University level organized by Sakal Karandak.
In the youth festival OASIS at Vidarbha Level organization by S. P. College of Law, Chandrapur our college have won the championship in cultural and sports events. Mr. Babarao Pode of B. A.-II have won the 1st prize in the quiz competition organized by F. E. S. Girls College, Chandrapur.Our College has a distinction of hosting a zonal competition of “UvaRang Mahotsav-2008” in which about 22 cultural events composing literary, Fine arts, music, dance, darma, mime, skit etc are organized at Chandrapur district level successfully.

In 2006-2007

Mr. Shrikant G. Sao and Mr. Atul Shrigandhawar won the first prize in State Level Elocation Competition on the topic “Shetkaryanchi Atmahatya….. Yuva Pidhee”Organized by the P. G. department of History , R. T. M. Nagpur University, Nagpur. Ku Rajeshree Raje have won the third prize in singing competition at Dhanvate National College, Nagpur at University Level. In the Drama Competition amongst colleges of R. T. M. Nagpur University Organized by Sakal Karandak, Mr. Vivek Raut got the Best Actor Award. For the Drama “Puranawrutti” written and directed by Prof. Rama Potdukhe-Golwalkar.
Mr. Jitesh Padgelwar got the firstprize in poster making Mr. Navin Shegamwar in clay modeling and the student of B.C. S. stood first in the dance competition in the Zonal of Uvarang a cultural festival organized by R. T. M. Nagpur University, Nagpur at Rajiv Gandhi Engineering College, Chandrapur.

In 2005-06

Our Students Harshina Yelmurkar, Jitesh Padgilwar, Navin Shegamwar, Shrikan Sao, Pravin Kaslikar have won prizes in the events like flower avengement, Rangoli, Clay modeling, Elocution, Classical Instument playing respectively in Uva Mahotsav Organized by the student welfare society of R. T. M. Nagpur University a Nagpur.

In 2004-05

Mr. Dilip Choudhary and Mr. Amit Addetiwar brough running shield to the college in the debate competition at R. T. M. Nagpur Uiversity Level Organized by Dr. Ambedkar College, Chandrapur by winning it continuously for three years. MrDilip Choudhary also have won the 2nd Prize in the state Level Elocution competition at Kolhapur. Ku. Mrunal Khadilkar won the 2nd Prize in the Dance Competition of Uva Mahotsav Organized by R. T. M. Nagpur University at Nagpur . Mr. Vivek Raut of BID have won the consolation prize in acting in the Drama competition organized by E-TV Marathi. He also got the prize in story writing organized by Yashwant Rao Chawhan Pratishthan Mumbai. Our students Ku. Rajeshree Raje , Mr. Namdeo Batkal, Mr. Amit Amrutkar, Mr. Jaadab Mandal were selected in the final round of sa-re-ga-ma-pa in Chandrapur.